Go to content Go to primary navigation Go to search
SNCF

Tech SNCF is an SNCF website

My dose of tech

Subscribe to the TechSNCF newsletter to keep up
with the latest on technologies for mobility!

Technology

Detection

The future autonomous trains will need to see, hear, and react to their environment to be able to operate. These capacities of detection will call for a technological leap based on sensors, i.e. cameras, radars, and lidars.

Detection refers to all the techniques for measuring or acquiring information without contact (i.e. remotely) about objects and phenomena. It thus provides an understanding of the environment on which to base decisions. Detection requires the use of three families of on-board sensors – cameras, radar, and lidar – that basically work by measuring the electromagnetic radiation emitted or reflected by objects.

The role of these sensors in automated transport and more generally in the future of mobility is to automate and enhance the observation of human beings. Without these sensors, autonomous trains (and self-driving cars) would be “blind” and “deaf”. Without them, the mobility of the future would be at a standstill.

These technologies are improving every year, and the new possibilities they are offering show how they are maturing. One key to their development is hybridisation, that is, merging the data from each sensor and processing them with algorithms.

Thus, a camera will capture an actual scene with suggestions of colour, tone, and luminosity; a lidar will reproduce a cloud of points and thus a 3D environment of this same scene with suggestions of depth and volume; and a radar – a more mature technology – will make the collected data more robust and reliable.

Totally safe decisions cannot be made unless data acquired by several sensors are combined and taken into account.

Aller au contenu Aller à la navigation principale Aller à la recherche
SNCF

Tech SNCF est un site de SNCF

Technologie

Détection

Pour rouler, le train autonome du futur aura besoin de capacités de détection : pour voir, entendre et réagir à son environnement. Un saut technologique qui repose sur les capteurs : caméras, radars, lidars.

La détection désigne l’ensemble des techniques permettant de mesurer ou d’acquérir de l’information, sans contact (c’est-à-dire à distance) sur des objets ou des phénomènes. Elle permet donc de comprendre un environnement et d’en tirer des décisions à prendre. Pour fonctionner, la détection nécessite l’utilisation de trois familles de capteurs embarqués qui exploitent essentiellement la mesure du rayonnement électromagnétique émis ou réfléchi par les objets : caméra, radar, lidar.

Automatiser et augmenter les performances d’observation de l’être humain, c’est la mission de ces capteurs dans la mise en place du transport autonome et plus largement dans le futur de la mobilité. Sans eux, le train autonome (mais aussi la voiture autonome) sera « aveugle » et « sourd ». Sans eux, la mobilité du futur fera du surplace.

Ces technologies progressent chaque année, leur maturité s’affermit avec de nouveaux potentiels qui s’ouvrent. L’une des clés réside dans l’hybridation, qui consiste à fusionner les données issues de chaque capteur et à les traiter algorithmiquement.

Ainsi, là où une caméra captera une scène réelle avec des notions de couleur, de teinte, de luminosité, un lidar restituera un nuage de points et donc un environnement 3D de cette même scène avec des notions de profondeur et de volume quand un radar – technologie plus mature – permettra de rendre les informations recueillies plus robustes et plus fiables.

Une prise de décision en toute sécurité ne sera envisageable qu’en s’appuyant sur l’exploitation combinée des données acquises par plusieurs capteurs.